ANFA includes 12 teams in Martyrs Memorial League


Kathmandu, 03 Dec 2009 - The All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) on Wednesday decided to include only 12 teams in the Martyrs Memorial ´A´ Division League to start from February 12. The ´A´ Division League could not take place in the last three years due to controversy within ANFA.

ANFA´s executive committee meeting held on Wednesday decided to conduct the league excluding eight newly promoted clubs. An ANFA source says that decision over inclusion of eight newly promoted clubs in the ´A´ Division League will be taken later this year.

Both ANFA and the rival Nepal Football Association had ´B´ division league and promoted four clubs each for ´A´ division. The two organizations united after their disputes were settled. Currently, there are 20 clubs in the A Division.

Academy under scanner

Meanwhile, ANFA meeting has formed a committee to study the effectiveness of its academy. As Nepal could not put up a good show in the AFC U-16 and U-19 Championship qualifiers held recently on home ground, ANFA academy´s effectiveness was questioned by the media.

ANFA Vice-president Lalit Krishna Shrestha heads the committee, which will bring the academy under its scanner.

Manandhar and Mishra appointed

The meeting appointed Krishna Bhakta Manandhar as the competition director of ANFA while Sanjiv Mishra was appointed tournament director.

No comments: