Six teams in Prime Minister Cup football

Kathmandu 17 Feb, Six teams have been confirmed today for the first Prime Minister Cup International Invitational Football Tournament slated here at the Dasharath Stadium for March 5-14.Two teams from Nepal — Red and Blue — will compete for the championship, said the organisers Republican Sports Federation of Nepal (RSFN) at a press meet today. While Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh will field their national teams, JW Team will represent Thailand in the tournament, said ANFA vice-president Lalit Krishna Shrestha.The teams have been divided in two groups. Nepal ‘Blue’ are pitted in Pool ‘A’ with Sri Lanka and JW Team while Nepal ‘Red’, Pakistan and Bangladesh are in Pool ‘B’. The tournament will be played in a league-cum-knockout format.Top two teams from both the pools will advance to the semi-finals.Yogamber Suwal have been assigned as the Nepal ‘Red’ coach while Baiju Kapali will look after the Nepal ‘Blue’ team, said RSFN president Jayandra Chand. As most of the players are busy playing tournaments outside the valley, the organisers are yet to finalise combination for both the teams, said ANFA vice-president Shrestha. In all 59 players are called for the closed camp training.Meanwhile, the organisers have formed a 151-member main organising committee under RSFN president Chand. The estimated budget for the event is Rs 20 million but the organisers have not decided whether or not to provide cash prize for champions.
Source: The Himalayan Times

No comments: