Analysis on Structure of Martyr's Memorial C-Division League

Ram Gurung

Martyrs Memorial C-Division League will commence in Kathmandu from 10th of August. ANFA has made all the required preparation for the upcoming league. The top four teams will be automatically qualified for the upcoming inaugural National C-Division League.

Like wise the upper tier leagues, all twelve teams in this league are also from the valley.
The teams are divided into two groups.

Group A
Garuda Sports Club
Khalibari FC
Khumaltar Youth Club
Nawa Jyoti Youth Club
Sanepa Club
Satdobato Youth Club

Group B
Charumati Youth Club
Naxal Yuba Mandal
Sakchamnagar Youth Club
Shree Bhagwati Youth Club
Shree Kumari Club
Social Welfare Sports Centre

The winners from each group will automatically qualify for the Martyr's Memorial B-Division League. The 1st runner up of each group will also join those winners to the inaugural National C-Division League. The bottom club from each group will be relegated.

To reduce the cost and time, 12 teams won't be playing each other. Instead there are two groups with 6 teams each. Although the teams have been randomly selected for the respective groups, some of the better teams may have a disadvantage falling into a more competitive group. Thus it is arguable that not every team has a equal opportunity to reach the Martyr's Memorial B-Division League, National C-division League or same risk to be relegated. Also, playing in this structure will be less beneficial for the teams advancing to upper leagues.The structure of the Martyr's A-division league is more hectic than any other leagues in Europe.

The teams such as Himalayan Sherpa Club is an epitome to survive through these leagues and now has been qualified for the National A-Division League. But not all the teams have the same economical strength and players. Himalayan Sherpa now owns National players as well as international players.

Best of Luck to all the teams and players taking part in Martyr's Memorial C-Division League.

No comments: