Easy win for Three Star, RCT, Saraswoti

KATHMANDU, July 7: Mega Three Star Club and Ranipokhari Corner Team (RCT) registered impressive wins on Thursday in the Martyrs Memorial Red Bull A Division League Football Tournament at the Dasharath Stadium.

In the day´s kick off, Three Star thrashed G5 Machhindra FC 7-0 with a hat-trick from Buddha Chemjong. Other goals came from Yogesh Gurung, Biraj Maharjan, Anil Ojha and substitute Pradip Maharjan. Chemjong´s hat-trick also became 17th in the league and his ninth goal.

The three goals in the initial 20 minutes sealed RCT´s 3-1 win over minnow Brigade Boys Club. Bhim Darlami netted twice in the 15th and 20th minute while defender Ntolo Ngoumou scored in the 18th minute. Yalamber Rai hit the consolation for BBC three minutes from time.

Following the wins, both Three Star and RCT moved a step ahead in the points table. Three Star, with 31 points, moved to the third place pushing behind Jawalakhel with 29 points to fourth after completion of 14 rounds. RCT with 24 points moved to seventh just ahead of Nepal Army Club that stands eighth.

Machhindra remained steady in the relegation line while Brigade in 14th place with 10 points.

In the soggy ground, Three Star took the match under control from the beginning. The team opened score in the early ninth minute through Gurung who slammed in a powerful shot from the box after controlling an acute pass of Bishad Gauchan.

National defender Biraj saw his 40-yard shot entering the net taking an uneven height after bouncing in the box and rolling above goalie Ibrahim Bashir´s head who was moving forward to collect it.
Chemjong netted his first goal two minutes before interval through spot-kick after Bikram Lama was fouled by Sunil Sardar in the box. Chemjong netted fourth for the team in the 59th from short distance in Yogesh Gurung´s pass set by Gauchan. Chemjong completed hattrick in the 75th from close range in a pass of Pradip.

National player Ojha scored in the 78th, beating two defenders and goalie Bashir. Pradip who came as a replacement of George Ssempala in the 56th minute headed to seal the wide margin victory seven minutes from time in Bijay Dhimal´s cross.

Three Star and national team custodian Kiran Chemjong twice made brilliant diving saves to deny Uzen Lama and Pukar Ale´s second half shot.

"All the members of the squad were quite serious after 4-0 defeat to Armed Police Force in the last match so we were able to achieve wide victory," Three Star coach Meghraj KC said, adding, "Now our place among top eight has been confirmed."

Machhindra assistant coach Narottam Shakya attributed the defeat to bad luck and soggy ground conditions. "We are still hoping to avoid the relegation," Shakya said whose side was promoted to the top flight in 2062 BS.
RCT, which was forced to wait until five matches for earning three full points, made an impressive start. Bhim Darlami directed the ball towards net from close distance to open scoring in the 12th minute while Ntolo Ngoumou doubled the tally three minutes later through a brilliant freekick from the edge of box. Darlami netted another in the 20th utilizing Ngomou´s corner.

BBC got the consolation during last moment after RCT goalie Prem Kumar Tamang chasing the header of Yalamber fell on the slippery ground and the ball entered net before he could recover.

"The victory has come as a great relief for us and I hope the team gets place in the top eight as we will face comparatively weaker teams like Untied, Saraswoti and Bauddha in the upcoming matches," RCT coach Madhu Karki said.

Saraswoti thumps Swayambhu

At the Halchowk ground, newcomer Saraswoti Youth Club thumped Swayambhu Club 4-1 showing a strong sign of avoiding the relegation, the ultimate aim of club in its first season.

Saraswoti, with 11 points, remained constant in the 13th place while Swayambhu is third from last with five points.

Yona Elias Mdabila gave 15th minute lead to Saraswoti through spot-kick after Bordneen Fransis fouled Mdabila in box. Three other goals came in the second half. Muhammad Naveed, Durgalal Shrestha and Ramesh Tamang netted one each in the 49th, 57th and 88th minute respectively. Babulal Hasda hit the only goal for Swayambhu in the 68th minute.

No comments: