Police move on top; Army beat MMC


KATHMANDU, April 11: Nepal Police Club restored their lead in the points table on Sunday after defeating Boys Union Club 2-0 in the Martyrs Memorial San Miguel A Division League Football at the Dasharath Stadium. Boys Union are already under pressure due to threat of relegation.

Likewise, Nepal Army Club remained unchanged in fourth position after a penalty goal from Raju Tamang earned them a vital 1-0 win over Laxmi Hyundai Manang Marshyangdi Club (MMC) who remained constant in sixth position with 18 points in their kitty.

Police, the only undefeated team of the league, moved one point clear at the table with 29 points pushing behind New Road Team (NRT) to second place after playing two matches of the second leg. Boys Union are at the bottom of the table with five points in their account. NRT slipped to second position as they played a goalless draw against Sankata Club on Saturday.

A goal each in both halves from Roshan Karki and Ramesh Katuwal gave victory to police who had defeated Boys Union 3-0 in the first leg.

An unmarked Karki put police ahead in the 15th minute through a close range header in a freekick off San Miguel Most Valuable Player adjudged Parbat Pandey from the left flank. Likewise, Ramesh Katuwal added another in the 53rd minute from the box beating the goalie in a pass of Pandey.

Police, despite piling up consistence pressure on their helpless opponents, could not make many attacks. Boys Union too could not make a single attack on target.

In the 70th minute, Jumanu Rai´s strike from the box in pass of scorer Karki was denied by Boys Union custodian Binaya Shrestha.

Police coach Birat Krishna said that his side failed to show their total and balanced game. “The boys could not utilize their experience against the inexperienced young opponents,” Shrestha said.

Boys Union coach Kumar Katuwal, after facing the seventh defeat in a row and 10th defeat of the league, said that his side was under relegation pressure. Commenting on the match, he said, “Midfield could not play well and police were better than us in every way. The team is also not well as there are 2-3 new faces.”

Earlier, in a competitive match, army were able to rescue full points from MMC through a lone penalty goal from Tamang in the 53rd minute. Army were awarded with a penalty after MMC goalie Bishal Shrestha played a foul on Amrit Basnet in a one-on-one position in the box and Tamang easily converted the spot kick.

MMC comparatively made more moves than army but were unable to send the ball into the net. MMC nearly missed a chance of taking lead in the 21st minute as striker Amar Pun failed to make contact with the ball ahead of the goal-line in a pass supplied by Ganesh Khadka.

Similarly, Korean striker for MMC Oh Suchg Hanw missed as he hit wide in the 43rd minute and in the added time of the first half army narrowly escaped conceding a goal as Hanw´s low ball from the box deflected after hitting the pole. In the other half, too, they missed as much as two good opportunities.

For army, Basnet´s 21st minute header went above the bar and in the 34th minute scorer Tamang´s strike from the edge went a bit wide off the target.

Army coach Rajukaji Shakya said had MMC got the shot on target in the 22nd minute they could have won the match. He also lauded his side´s performance. He said it was difficult to play under the hot midday sun.

MMC coach Chhiring Lopsang who had brought some changes in players´ positions said that they played well but failed to utilize scoring opportunities. He blamed defending error for conceding the goal.

Tuesday´s matches
Friends Vs Machhindra

1 comment:

Machhindra said...

G’FIVE Machhindra 2067 Lucky Draw

To celebrate the Nepali New Year 2067, G’FIVE Machhindra will be holding a Lucky Draw where the winner will win a free authentic G’FIVE Machhindra jersey.

To register for the Lucky Draw fans simply need to go to the G’FIVE Machhindra Facebook Page (http://www.facebook.com/mfcnepal) and click on “Become a Fan”. The first 2067 fans to register will be included in the Lucky Draw.

The Lucky Draw will take place immediately after 2067 fans have registered or on May 10, whichever comes first.

G'FIVE Machhindra officials and players, members of ANFA and NSJF are not eligible to participate.